Saturday, April 22, 2006

Introduction: Blocked rook pawns

No Namilov endgame tables allowed to solve this.

Loss, draw or win if White to play and if Black to play.


Blogger takchess said...

I'm uncertain but I think that both are draws. For white to play, once KXa7 black would be able to play k-c6 and that would be a draw. And if white can't win I don't believe black could force one either.

1:27 PM  
Blogger Montse said...

Takchess your correct. But black to move has only one move to draw. Which one?

1:43 PM  
Blogger takchess said...


3:50 PM  
Blogger Montse said...


4:04 PM  
Blogger takchess said...

K-d2 then but why???

3:54 AM  
Blogger Montse said...

The beauty lays in 1....Kf3. Black has to loose one move to draw. lateral defense from black's side following the capture of the pawn black will be on c7.
Anyway my computer crashed so it will be awhile for i can type something...

3:38 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home